Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Visual Culture

A guide to print and electronic resources available at The New School Libraries and Archives.

About

This research guide is for students researching art and visual culture.  Explore the Reference, Books, Periodicals, Articles and Databases, and Images tabs to learn more about library resources in these formats. 

For a short research paper, check out the resources recommended on the Assignments page.

Basic Databases to Research a Work of Art

Keywords

First, identify keywords that can be used to search for material. Please note that most information will be found using the keywords below, not the artwork title.

Artist
Country, Culture, or Religion
Medium: Painting, Sculpture, Drawing, Installation, Photograph, Video

Books

Search the library catalog for monographs, exhibition catalogs, and theoretical writings on or by the artist.

Reference

Articles

See our list of Art databases.

Highlights

The New School Special Collections has artists books, photobooks, and  other rare and special format items that are available to view by appointment.

View a selection of artists books on our Flickr page.

We also have most issues of Visionaire magazine.

Appointments are generally in the Archives and Special Collections room at 66 Fifth Avenue, lobby.

Research Help

Contact Us

SMS/TXT 
646.480.6309

with your question.

GENERAL INFORMATION 
212.229.5307 

libhelp@newschool.edu

ARCHIVES & SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
212.229.5942

archivist@newschool.edu