Academic Skills for Interdisciplinary Studies by Koen van der Gaast; Laura Koenders; Ger PostWhat's a theoretical framework for? How do you effectively present your data in a figure? What's the secret to a good presentation?As an interdisciplinary student, you delve into theories and research methodsfrom a whole range of disciplines. Academic skills are the tools that you can use to take in, develop, integrate and question knowledge. This guide provides specific instructions, tips and examples to help students develop these skills, both during and after their studies.As academic education focuses on research, the empirical cycle forms a keytheme of the book, including when discussing the following skills:- Searching for, critically reading and analysing scholarly texts- Formulating research questions- Making concepts measurable, qualitatively and quantitatively- Organizing literature and data- Analysing and formulating an argument- Academic writing- Collaborating- Reflecting- Presenting
Publication Date: 2019-07-19
Connections Are Everything by Peter Felten; Leo M. Lambert; Isis Artze-Vega; Oscar R. Miranda TapiaA practical guide to building the connections students need to thrive in and after college from the authors of the best-selling Relationship-Rich Education. Decades of research demonstrate how important the relationships with peers and professors are for students academically, personally, and professionally. Yet many students lack the strategies to develop educationally purposeful relationships in college. Connections Are Everythingshows students the simple steps they can take to make their own college experience meaningful and transformational. In short, practical chapters, this guide helps readers learn how to build relationships through various strategies, including using "relationship accelerators" like internships and mentorships, undergraduate research, and campus employment. Undergraduate demographics have changed dramatically as students of color and first-generation students become the new majority at colleges and universities across the United States. Connections are particularly significant for these students; the positive--and negative--impacts of peer, faculty, and staff relationships are magnified. Higher education cannot meet students' needs or achieve equity, justice, and inclusion without relationship-rich education. This book empowers students to seek out relationships by demystifying the varied ways they can cultivate significant connections.
Publication Date: 2023-07-25
Grad School Essentials by Zachary ShoreWhat's the hardest part of grad school? It's not simply that the workload is heavy and the demands are high. It's that too many students lack efficient methods to let them do their best. Professor Zachary Shore aims to change this. With humorous, lively prose, Professor Shore teaches you to master the five most crucial skills you need to succeed: how to read, write, speak, act, and research at a higher level. Each chapter in this no-nonsense guide outlines a unique approach to acquiring a skill and then demonstrates how to enhance it. Through these concrete, practical methods, Grad School Essentials will save you time, elevate the quality of your work, and help you to earn the degree you seek.
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Ways of Being : Advice for Artists by Artists. by James CahillAdvice, tips, thoughts, and ruminations for artists at every stage of their life and career* Candid quotes and pithy insights from key artists and figures in the art world about their experiences* Interviews and quotes from Gilbert & George, Andy Warhol, Damien Hirst, Sarah Lucas, Louise Bourgeois, Luc Tuymans, Billy Childish, Allen Jones, Robert Rauschenberg, Grayson Perry, Jeff Koons, Jackson Pollock, Giorgio Vasari, Pliny the Elder, Phyllida Barlow, David Shrigley, Fiona Rae, Maggi Hambling, Allen Jones, Mark Wallinger, Richard Serra, Lynda Benglis, Michael Landy, Leonardo da Vinci, Micha.
Publication Date: 2018
Writing Guide with Handbook by Michelle Bachelor Robinson; Maria Jerskey; Toby Fulwiler (Featuring)Writing Guide with Handbook aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies--including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning--and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles. Writing Guide with Handbook breaks down barriers in the field of composition by offering an inviting and inclusive approach to students of all intersectional identities. To meet this goal, the text creates a reciprocal relationship between everyday rhetoric and the evolving world of academia. Writing Guide with Handbook builds on students' life experiences and their participation in rhetorical communities within the familiar contexts of personal interaction and social media. The text seeks to extend these existing skills by showing students how to construct a variety of compelling compositions in a variety of formats, situations, and contexts.
Publication Date: 2021-12-15
Creative Quest by QuestloveNAMED A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2018 BY Esquire * PopSugar * The Huffington Post * Buzzfeed * Publishers Weekly A unique new guide to creativity from Questlove--inspirations, stories, and lessons on how to live your best creative life Questlove--musician, bandleader, designer, producer, culinary entrepreneur, professor, and all-around cultural omnivore--shares his wisdom on the topics of inspiration and originality in a one-of-a-kind guide to living your best creative life. In Creative Quest, Questlove synthesizes all the creative philosophies, lessons, and stories he's heard from the many creators and collaborators in his life, and reflects on his own experience, to advise readers and fans on how to consider creativity and where to find it. He addresses many topics--what it means to be creative, how to find a mentor and serve as an apprentice, the wisdom of maintaining a creative network, coping with critics and the foibles of success, and the specific pitfalls of contemporary culture--all in the service of guiding admirers who have followed his career and newcomers not yet acquainted with his story. Whether discussing his own life or channeling the lessons he's learned from forefathers such as George Clinton, collaborators like D'Angelo, or like-minded artists including Ava DuVernay, David Byrne, Björk, and others, Questlove speaks with the candor and enthusiasm that fans have come to expect. Creative Quest is many things--above all, a wise and wide-ranging conversation around the eternal mystery of creativity.
Call Number: BF408 .Q53 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-24
Scholarships, Grants & Prizes 2019 by Peterson'sPeterson's® Scholarships, Grants & Prizes 2019 provides current information on more than 1.6 million privately funded awards worth over $10 billion available to college students. This user-friendly guide contains search indexes for detailed profiles of awards based on: Academic fields and career goals Nationality or ethnic heritage Talent/interest area Employment/volunteer experience Military service Location of study Other categories that are available from private sources, such as foundations, corporations, and religious and civic organizations. Peterson's® Scholarships, Grants & Prizes 2019 identifies approximately 3,500 profiles that include information on award amounts, eligibility requirements, application deadlines, contact information, and more. This time-saving valuable resource also provides: Educational articles with strategies on how to win a scholarship by writing an outstanding scholarship essay Guidance on finding available minority scholarships Ways to use social media to help pay for college Strategies for searching for and finding awards
Call Number: LB2337.4 .P475 Library Use Only
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
You can do anything : the surprising power of a "useless" liberal arts education by George AndersIn a tech-dominated world, the most needed degrees are the most surprising: the liberal arts. Did you take the right classes in college? Will your major help you get the right job offers? For more than a decade, the national spotlight has focused on science and engineering as the only reliable choice for finding a successful post-grad career. Our destinies have been reduced to a caricature: learn to write computer code or end up behind a counter, pouring coffee. Quietly, though, a different path to success has been taking shape. In YOU CAN DO ANYTHING, George Anders explains the remarkable power of a liberal arts education - and the ways it can open the door to thousands of cutting-edge jobs every week. The key insight: curiosity, creativity, and empathy aren't unruly traits that must be reined in. You can be yourself, as an English major, and thrive in sales. You can segue from anthropology into the booming new field of user research; from classics into management consulting, and from philosophy into high-stakes investing. At any stage of your career, you can bring a humanist's grace to our rapidly evolving high-tech future. And if you know how to attack the job market, your opportunities will be vast. In this book, you will learn why resume-writing is fading in importance and why "telling your story" is taking its place. You will learn how to create jobs that don't exist yet, and to translate your campus achievements into a new style of expression that will make employers' eyes light up.
Call Number: HF5382.5.U5 A7185 2017
Publication Date: 2017
101 Things I Learned in Architecture School by Matthew FrederickConcise lessons in design, drawing, the creative process, and presentation, from the basics of "How to Draw a Line" to the complexities of color theory. This is a book that students of architecture will want to keep in the studio and in their backpacks. It is also a book they may want to keep out of view of their professors, for it expresses in clear and simple language things that tend to be murky and abstruse in the classroom. These 101 concise lessons in design, drawing, the creative process, and presentation--from the basics of "How to Draw a Line" to the complexities of color theory--provide a much-needed primer in architectural literacy, making concrete what too often is left nebulous or open-ended in the architecture curriculum. Each lesson utilizes a two-page format, with a brief explanation and an illustration that can range from diagrammatic to whimsical. The lesson on "How to Draw a Line" is illustrated by examples of good and bad lines; a lesson on the dangers of awkward floor level changes shows the television actor Dick Van Dyke in the midst of a pratfall; a discussion of the proportional differences between traditional and modern buildings features a drawing of a building split neatly in half between the two. Written by an architect and instructor who remembers well the fog of his own student days, 101 Things I Learned in Architecture School provides valuable guideposts for navigating the design studio and other classes in the architecture curriculum. Architecture graduates--from young designers to experienced practitioners--will turn to the book as well, for inspiration and a guide back to basics when solving a complex design problem.
Call Number: Main Collection NA2000 .F74 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-31
101 things I learned in fashion school by Alfredo Cabrera101 Things I Learned in Fashion School provides essential advice to undergraduates, designers, and anyone interested in the fashion world. Each two-page layout is illustrated and illuminates an important industry topic--using humor, statistics, or real-life examples to drive the point home.
Call Number: Main Collection TT508 .C32 2010
Publication Date: 2010
101 Things to Learn in Art School by Kit WhiteLessons, demonstrations, definitions, and tips on what to expect in art school, what it means to make art, and how to think like an artist. What is the first thing to learn in art school? "Art can be anything." The second thing? "Learn to draw." With 101 Things to Learn in Art School, artist and teacher Kit White delivers and develops such lessons, striking an instructive balance between technical advice and sage concepts. These 101 maxims, meditations, and demonstrations offer both a toolkit of ideas for the art student and a set of guiding principles for the artist. Complementing each of the 101 succinct texts is an equally expressive drawing by the artist, often based on a historical or contemporary work of art, offering a visual correlative to the written thought. "Art can be anything" is illustrated by a drawing of Duchamp's famous urinal; a description of chiaroscuro art is illuminated by an image "after Caravaggio"; a lesson on time and media is accompanied by a view of a Jenny Holzer projection; advice about surviving a critique gains resonance from Piero della Francesca's arrow-pierced Saint Sebastian. 101 Things to Learn in Art School offers advice about the issues artists confront across all artistic media, but this is no simple handbook to making art. It is a guide to understanding art as a description of the world we live in, and it is a guide to using art as a medium for thought. And so this book belongs on the reading list of art students, art teachers, and artists, but it also belongs in the library of everyone who cares about art as a way of understanding life.
Call Number: Main Collection N325 .W49 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-19
Design School Confidential by Steven Heller; Lita TalaricoEvery great design school in the world is defined, in part, by the work of its students at any given time. The various project challenges given to a class determine the success of a school's pedagogy, but also the ingenuity of its faculty and students. This book features fifty real-world class assignments from top design programs at universities around the world, and examines the resulting student projects. From undergraduate to graduate work and basic class challenges to final thesis's, students delivered a wide variety of graphic and multimedia design projects from print to motion to exhibition. The book has three functions: 1) To exhibit a wide range of challenging problems and successful solutions. 2) Provide practical models to be inspired by and learn from. 3) Examine how sophisticated design school projects are and what value they have in relation to real-world practice.
Call Number: Main Collection NC1000 .H44 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
A Guide to Library Research in Music by Pauline Shaw Bayne"A Guide to Library Research in Music introduces the process and techniques for researching and writing about music. This informative textbook provides examples of different types of writing, offers a thorough introduction to music literature, describes various information-searching methods and library-based organizational systems, and explores the wide array of music resources."--BOOK JACKET.
Call Number: Main Collection ML3797 .B29 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-18
Writing in Music by Lynne Rogers; Karen M. Bottge; Sara HaefeliWriting in Music demystifies music writing conventions and methods by offering strategies for the types of writing that students most often encounter in college courses on music. The book offers guidance through the writing process and, for research assignments, through the research process.Geared for an audience of music majors and other students taking undergraduate music-major courses - as well as for master's students in music desiring more training in academic writing - Writing in Music covers the two approaches common to academic coursework in virtually all music-major programs:the study of music with a focus on its cultural and historical contexts, and the exploration of works using the tools of music analysis. Whether students want to apply a specific approach or take a broader, interdisciplinary stance, this guide prepares them to think and write about music.
Call Number: Reserves Collection (MT6 .R64 2020 )
Publication Date: 2021-01-07
Study Like a Champ by Regan A. R. Gurung; John DunloskyThis engaging, student-friendly book debunks major myths about studying and provides practical tips for how students can learn to study smarter, not harder. Cognitive science has revealed the hidden secrets of what really works for studying. Written by psychologists who are experts in the science of study habits, Study Like a Champ outlines clear steps students can use throughout their high school and college careers to plan, monitor, and evaluate their learning. Numerous examples and self-assessments will help students of all ages apply these strategies to their own unique situations to help them create and maintain habits that foster life-long learning. Psychologists Regan A. R. Gurung and John Dunlosky are award-winning teachers and researchers who have spent years conducting studies on how students learn. Not only have they published a significant number of scientific peer-reviewed papers on the topic, but they have received national recognition as teachers.
Publication Date: 2022-12-07
The ultimate guide to doing a PhD by Merle van den AkkerHave you ever considered doing a PhD, but have no idea where to start? Or are you doing a PhD and starting to feel like you're losing the plot? Each year the number of applicants to postgraduate research and PhD programs increases, yet the information on how to successfully navigate the journey remains obscure. This is where this book comes in: I explore every aspect of doing a PhD. Doing a PhD starts from the very the idea of wanting to do one itself. What motivations work well and which don't when making it through the PhD? The book also includes several chapters on applying to a PhD, university selection, supervisor selection and document preparation. We then move onto what goes on during the PhD, which is where the majority of questions often arise. Questions around workload, time management, mental health, social comparison, (peer) pressure, supervisor (mis)communications, all the way up to publishing, teaching, networking, conference attendance, presenting work and preparing for the next step are addressed. And yes, the next step matters: are you planning to continue to work in academia, or not? The book addresses both career pathways, staying in or leaving academia, equally. There has been increased pushback against the idea that those with a PhD should automatically remain in academia, especially as the academic job market has become increasingly saturated. There has been an increased interest in transitioning from academia to industry, but again, the information on how to properly approach this remains scattered. This book aims to take a (prospective) PhD student by the hand and outline the entire process, answering every question they could possibly have along the way
Publication Date: 2023
Akademie X by Marina Abramovic; Olafur Eliasson; Dan Graham; Studio Raqs Media CollectiveAssembled from the wisdom of 36 legendary art teachers - all of them artists or critics at the top of their field - Akademie X: Lessons in Art + Life is an ideal curriculum for the aspiring artist. Each of the book's "tutors" has provided a unique lesson that aims to provoke, inspire and stimulate the aspiring artist. These lessons cover some combination of the following: technical advice (e.g. don't make a sculpture bigger than your studio door), assignments (some of which will take five minutes to complete, others five years), tips for avoiding creative ruts (including suggestions for mind‐expanding materials to read, watch or listen to), principles of careful looking (demonstrated with images of artworks, photographs, films or even billboard advertisements), advice on the daily practice of art (how to balance time alone in the studio with building an artistic community), career pointers (how to prepare for a studio visit from a curator or gallerist) and personal anecdotes (e.g. stories from the instructor's own humble beginnings). Taken together, these lessons offer the reader a set of tools for thinking, seeing and living as an artist. Not only is Akademie X: Lessons in Art + Life the first illustrated text book of its kind for artists, but it will also appeal to anyone interested in contemporary art, providing first hand revelations into the philosophies and techniques of some of the world's best artists and writers.
Publication Date: 2015-02-19
The nuts & bolts of college writing by Michael HarveyUpdated for the needs of today's students--and with handy citation style guides adapted from The Chicago Manual of Style, Seventeenth Edition, the MLA Handbook, Eighth Edition, and the Publication Manual of the APA, Seventh Edition--the third edition of The Nuts and Bolt of College Writing offers essential guidance for college writers at all levels.