- UNIVERSITY HOME
- LIBRARY, COLLECTIONS, & ACADEMIC SERVICES »
How to Read Call Numbers
Call numbers are simple once you get the hang of it!
First, when you look at a call number, you will read it alphabetically: AB comes before BB, which comes before CB.
Then, you read it numerically: BB20 comes before BB100, which comes before BB200
Remember: even though 20 starts with a 2, it is still a smaller number than 100!
So, if we put CB395, AB100, CB40, and BB600 in order, it looks like: AB100, BB600, CB40, CB395
Fashion Thinking by
The thinking behind a fashion collection is what sets one designer apart from another. Learning to push ideas forward, to develop concepts and to challenge the status quo is what gives us some of fashion's greatest innovations. Yet students often struggle to develop their own style and approach to design. While the design process is fundamental to the way all fashion designers work, there is no right or wrong method: each emerging designer must find their own authentic process.By following nine award-winning student designers through their thought processes in response to a brief, Fashion Thinking establishes key approaches to design and encourages this process of discovery. Each student project represents a diverse range of strategies at each stage of the design cycle. By following each throughout their various stages of development, these examples offer a unique and inspiring insight into the thinking behind a final collection. Supported by beautiful imagery and illuminating perspectives from professionals throughout the fashion industry, Fashion Thinking is a book that no aspiring fashion designer should be without!
Fashion Design: the Complete Guide by
Fashion Design: The Complete Guide is a modern and stylish introduction to working within the fashion industry today. Catwalk images show the latest trends and contributions from industry professionals span centres of fashion across London, Paris and New York. A fabulous selection of images and plenty of suggestions of further resources make this a useful and exciting springboard into a successful career in fashion. This behind-the-scenes guide to the study of fashion is for current and aspiring designers, fashion lovers and students. It provides an all-inclusive overview of the entire design process, covering the history of fashion, fashion illustration, colour and fabrics, the journey from concept to finished garment, research processes, presenting a collection and professional practice. It is generously illustrated throughout with images from famous designers, includes promising graduate work and showcases original artwork from a variety of studios. The new essential text for aspiring fashion designers, Fashion Design: The Complete Guide is filled with practical advice at every stage, including help with portfolios, personal promotion and career opportunities. With an attractive and colourful layout, every chapter also includes interviews, discussion questions, activities and further reading. The book is illustrated with beautiful examples of work from both established and up-and-coming designers, including Alexander McQueen, Viktor & Rolf, Jean-Paul Gaultier, Christian Dior, Anna Sui, Jonathan Saunders, Mary Katrantzou and Elie Saab, and pictures of style icons such as Tilda Swinton and Gwen Stefani.
The Fundamentals of Fashion Design by
The Fundamentals of Fashion Design provides a fully illustrated introduction to the key elements of fashion design, from the initial concept of a fashion idea to realizing it in 3D form. Writing with clarity and precision, Richard Sorger and Jenny Udale explain the entire fashion design process, including research and design, fabrics and their properties, construction methods and how to form and promote a collection. This third edition has been updated to include the latest design and construction techniques and stunning new visual examples. New and updated interviews with practitioners working for leading fashion brands offer key insights into succeeding in the industry today and a preface by fashion designer and instructor Shelley Fox introduces and contextualizes the new edition. Exercises also help readers to discover and experiment with design techniques first hand. Overall, this book is a rich and dynamic resource that will inspire readers to develop their own design work and embark on a career in fashion with confidence, proficiency and enthusiasm. FEATURED INTERVIEWS Mårten Andreasson, & Other Stories Alan Humphrey Bennett, Paul Smith Kristin Forss, Marni Barry Grainger, Timberland Louise Gray Peter Jensen Gahee Lim Winni Lok Michele Manz, Current/Elliott Chantal Williams, Old Navy
Fashion Design by
This book offers a thorough grounding in the principles of fashion design, describing the qualities and skills needed to become a fashion designer, examining the varied career opportunities available, and giving a balanced inside view of the fashion business today. Subjects covered include how to interpret a project brief; building a collection; choosing fabric; fit, cutting, and making techniques; portfolio presentation; and fashion marketing and economics.This third edition has been totally redesigned and extensively updated, with new images showing the latest fashion trends and coverage of new techniques.
J. J. Pizzuto's Fabric Science by
With an easy to use loose-leaf / binder format and vibrant, color photographs, Fabric Science shows the creative application of textiles in fashion and interior design. The companion Fabric Science Swatch Kit, 11th Edition (9781628926576), which includes 114 fabric swatches aligned with this text, gives students hands-on experience with textile fibers, yarns, fabrications, dyes, prints, and finishes--providing a complete package for understanding textiles. The eleventh edition to meet the needs of both students and professionals in the textile, fashion, and related industries seeking an introduction to textiles. Johnson and Sarkar provide readers with a comprehensive text about the design, structure, and application of textiles with an emphasis on fashion and home goods. The range of information is exceptionally broad, and includes basic fiber makeup, fiber innovation, the formation of fabrics, quality issues, and laws that regulate textiles; updated topics include environmental responsibility, nanotechnology and innovations in industrial textiles and career opportunities in design, production, marketing, merchandising, apparel and home products.
Technical Sourcebook for Designers by
Technical Sourcebook for Designers is completely devoted to preparing aspiring and professional apparel designers for the growing demand for technical design skills in the apparel industry. This comprehensive compilation presents technical design processes and industry standards that reflect current apparel production and manufacturing practices. Lee and Steen provide a holistic perspective of the role of technical design in apparel production, including such considerations as selection of fabrics, finding seasonal fashion trends, garment construction, and fit evaluation, all in the context of meeting the needs of the target consumer with cost-effective decisions. This edition includes a new section on real-life fit problems and solutions, more information on essential math for designers (such as grading and costing) plus coverage of product lifecycle management (PLM) and sustainability. An all new Chapter 8 on Sweater Product Design explores sweater design and manufacturing. More than 200 new images and newly added color in illustrations to show relevant design details. With versatile coverage of a variety of product categories including women's wear, menswear and knitwear, this text gives students essential tools to develop specification sheets and technical packages for specific markets. PLEASE NOTE- Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501395376. STUDIO Instant Access can also be purchased or rented separately on BloomsburyFashionCentral.com.
The Spec Manual 2nd Edition by
The 2nd Edition of The Spec Manual provides fashion professionals and students with a -comprehensive guide for measuring garments using standard industry practices. This textbook/workbook contains front and back view croquis for women, off sizes, men, juniors, and children; spec sheet templates; illustrated measurement points; and tables with measurement points. The 2nd Edition also features a companion CD-ROM with electronic resources such as spec sheets and a flats library. Users with either beginning or advanced digital skills will learn how to create computer-generated spec sheets.