Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of Design & Curatorial Studies

A guide for students in the MAMA History of Design & Curatorial Studies offered in conjunction with the Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum.

WEBSITES

Archive of Early American Images - A database of graphic representations of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825.

Chipstone Foundation - The Chipstone Foundation was founded with  the dual purpose of preserving and interpreting American furniture and historical prints, and seventeenth and eighteenth century British potter and stimulating research and education in the decorative arts.

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Visual Culture - University of Wisconsin - Madison - The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and journals, image databases, and information on organizations, museums and research facilities. Made possible by the Chipstone Foundation, the site was created and is maintained at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.

Domestic Interiors Database - The Domestic Interiors Database is a major outcome from a broad-ranging analytical survey of the ways in which the interior has been represented since the Renaissance in Western Europe and North America.

Dumbarton Oaks - Dumbarton Oaks is dedicated to supporting scholarship in the fields of Byzantine, Garden and Landscape, and Pre-Columbian studies. We prioritize publications with ties to the institution through its collections, estate, projects, scholarly meetings, and fellowship programs. We continue to expand our publications both in-print and online to serve the largest possible community of scholars in our dedicated fields of study.

Hallmark Sources From Europe and the Americas - a bibliographic compendium of all sources relating to hallmarks on metals, ceramics and other materials, compiled by Smithsonian Libraries.  

Invaluable - the world's leading online marketplace for fine art, antiques and collectibles.

Jane Katcher Collection of Americana - This private collection concentrates on objects created largely in New England, New York, Pennsylvania and Virginia from the mid-eighteeth through mid-nineteenth centuries and includes familiar expressions of Americana and folk art such as portraits and carvings, quilts and needlework, weathervanes and whirligigs, family records and calligraphy, mocha ware and spatter ware, furniture, boxes and baskets, as well as the unexpected - valentines, friendship albums, and keepsakes woven from the hair of loved ones.

Winterthur Museum, Garden and Library - The collection focuses on the documentation of American household goods and their use, decorative arts and design, and the material culture of everyday life in America from the 17th through the early 20th centuries.

Additional sources are listed on the Art Libraries Society of North America Decorative Arts Special Interest Group's blog, resources page.