- UNIVERSITY HOME
- LIBRARY, COLLECTIONS, & ACADEMIC SERVICES »
A reference work is used in the preliminary stages of research. Subject-specific entries help the researcher find a concise overview of a topic, gain context, and gather additional sources.
The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design
by
The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design provides a comprehensive guide to design, with entries on key topics in the history and theory of design, addressing a range of design forms including graphic, textile, furniture, metal, ceramic, fashion, stage and film, vehicle and product design, as well as national histories of design and key design movements. The Encyclopedia provides up-to-date peer reviewed coverage of the last 250 years of design history, with global coverage by leading international design scholars and design historians. Complete with a comprehensive index and full cross referencing, The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design is the definitive guide to Design.
The Design Encyclopedia
by
The Museum of Modern Art Design Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive design reference guide to date. Compiled over the last 15 years by Mel Byars, in consultation with an international team of design experts, The Encyclopedia sets out to provide the factual framework of a discipline whose own historical accounting of itself is still relatively young. (By way of contrast, art history has existed as a scholarly discipline for over two centuries, and has produced a fairly comprehensive record of itself in that time period.) Only once before has a similarly comprehensive overview of the history of design been attempted--in 1994, also by Mel Byars. The Encyclopedia is about design, of course, but these days "design" seems to encompass almost everything, from magazine layouts and sweatshirts to animatronic flower gardens and heart pumps, not to mention the more abstract "information design." Here, however, design is considered only in its concrete application to functional objects, thus crossing with craft, decorative arts, and industrial design, but distinguishing itself from fine art and theory. The result is 832 pages covering the last 130 years in the history of the design of furniture, lighting, fabrics, ceramics, glassware, metalware, objects in a range of other materials, and mechanical, electrical and electronic appliances, as well as automobiles and some inventions. There are separate entries for designers and craftspeople, design studios, consortiums and partnerships, noteworthy manufacturers, significant historical periods and styles, and materials. Entries, 3,600 in all, are self-contained and organized alphabetically, and include cross-references. Information is an amalgamation of data gathered from a vast number of primary and secondary sources. With over 700 full-color illustrations, most of which are drawn from the MoMA collection, the remainder from Quittenbaum Kunstauktionen in Munich and Hamburg or directly from designers or manufacturers, this publication is an invaluable, definitive compendium of the world of design over the last century and a half.
The International Handbooks of Museum Studies
by
The International Handbooks of Museum Studies is a multi-volume reference work that represents a state-of-the-art survey of the burgeoning field of museum studies. Featuring original essays by leading international museum experts and emerging scholars, readings cover all aspects of museum theory, practice, debates, and the impact of technologies. The four volumes in the series, divided thematically, offer in-depth treatment of all major issues relating to museum theory; historical and contemporary museum practice; mediations in art, design, and architecture; and the transformations and challenges confronting the museum. In addition to invaluable surveys of current scholarship, the entries include a rich and diverse panoply of examples and original case studies to illuminate the various perspectives. Unprecedented for its in-depth topic coverage and breadth of scholarship, the multi-volume International Handbooks of Museum Studies is an indispensable resource for the study of the development, roles, and significance of museums in contemporary society.
History of Design
by
A survey of spectacular breadth, covering the history of decorative arts and design worldwide over the past six hundred years Spanning six centuries of global design, this far-reaching survey is the first to offer an account of the vast history of decorative arts and design produced in Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Indian subcontinent, and the Islamic world, from 1400 to the present. Meticulously documented and lavishly illustrated, the volume covers interiors, furniture, textiles and dress, glass, graphics, metalwork, ceramics, exhibitions, product design, landscape and garden design, and theater and film design. Divided into four chronological sections, each of which is subdivided geographically, the authors elucidate the evolution of style, form, materials, and techniques, and address vital issues such as gender, race, patronage, cultural appropriation, continuity versus innovation, and high versus low culture. Leading authorities in design history and decorative arts studies present hundreds of objects in their contemporary contexts, demonstrating the overwhelming extent to which the applied arts have enriched customs, ceremony, and daily life worldwide over the past six hundred years. This ambitious, landmark publication is essential reading, contributing a definitive classic to the existing scholarship on design, decorative arts, and material culture, while also introducing these subjects to new readers in a comprehensive, erudite book with widespread appeal.
World History of Design
by
This is the definitive historical account of global design from prehistory to the end of the Second World War, by pre-eminent design scholar Victor Margolin. These two richly illustrated volumes contain over 850 images, with over 160 in full colour.
The A-Z of Modern Design
by
This encyclopedia is the most comprehensive guide available to international product design of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. It includes 300 entries on influential designers and studios and the most important design-led manufacturers worldwide, both past and present.
A Dictionary of Modern Design
by
From Jacobsen to Tupperware, this fascinating new dictionary of Modern Design covers the period from the mid-nineteenth century to the end of the twentieth. Over 2,000 entries on names and movements from the past 150 years of design include ceramics, furniture, graphics, industrial design,interiors, and fashion, as well as biographical entries on designers, manufacturers, etc, and major museums and heritage sites. The dictionary, international in focus, also covers major movements, key concepts, design terminology, and important design institutions.Written in a clear, accessible style, and with more comprehensive coverage than any of the other design dictionaries available, the Dictionary of Modern Design is an essential addition to every designer's and artist's studio shelf. It also features funky illustrations at every letter's opening page,with zeitgeist design concepts from Action Man and Barbie to Ferrari and Electrolux.
Materials and Techniques in the Decorative Arts
by
In our industrialized society, it is often difficult to imagine how the objects around us are made. How, for example, are triple spirals put into the stem of a wine glass or table tops inlaid with whole landscapes of semi-precious stones? This unique dictionary is devoted to the fascinating materials and techniques used in the decorative arts. Materials range from the exotic to the most basic, from rare stones found only in the mountains of Badakshan, unsavory animal products, and the ground bodies of South American insects to ones as common as sand, clay, and lime. Compiled by a team of experts, each with an intimate knowledge of his or her subject, the entries are written in clear, accessible language and supplemented by numerous photographs and drawings. Each core material (glass, ceramics, textiles, paper, plastics, leather, metal, stone, wood, and paint) is covered from its raw state through any processing or preparation to various craft stages and finally, to any surface finishing. Traditionally, the kind of information found in these pages has been passed on from craftsman to craftsman or confined to highly specialized books, and even common terms are often misunderstood. This dictionary makes the subject accessible to all--from art and architectural historians, curators, collectors, restoration specialists, artists, and museum staff to decorators, aficionados, and those who enjoy watching Antiques Roadshow. In short, this book is for all those who are intrigued by the materials and techniques used to create the beautiful objects that surround us.
Skira Dictionary of Modern Decorative Arts
by
A useful, fact-filled, highly illustrated dictionary of modern decorative arts, from the 1860s to the 1960s, in Europe & in the States.
Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Design since 1900
by
"A marvelous handbook for professional designers, students, or anyone with a curiosity about design." Ballast Quarterly Review This comprehensive guide embraces all aspects of modern design: graphics, products, interiors, furniture, and industrial and architectural design. Guy Julier examines not only the work of important designers worldwide but also the many dramatic changes that have influenced design and its uses in the twentieth century. Thus political and ideological concepts such as feminism and green design are defined and explained, as are new technological advances, new materials and techniques, and influential movements in modern culture. The text incorporates extensive cross-referencing and full bibliographical notes along with a chronological chart of design highlights since 1900. The revised edition features over sixty completely new entries that reflect three important developments in design and its discussiondigitization, sustainability, and brandingranging from Nintendo and The Body Shop to McDonald's and Levi's. 220 illustrations.
Bibliographies will need to be requested from offsite.
American Furniture Craftsmen Working Prior to 1920
by
The materials included in this bibliography focus on the craftsmen responsible for the creation of fine furniture. Works that give biographical information about furniture craftsmen and discuss the stylistic and aesthetic development of their art; works that examine the sociological, political, economic and environmental conditions within which furniture craftsmen worked, as well as furniture factories and furniture retail businesses themselves; and general works useful in the study of American furniture are cited. The bibliography consists of four main sections, the first of which deals with the life and work of individual furniture makers and designers. The second section focuses on groups of furniture craftsmen. Works of a general nature that contribute to the study of American furniture are found in section three. The fourth section contains furniture trade catalogs published by manufacturers and wholesalers for salesmen and retail stores. A two-part appendix lists furniture trade periodicals published mainly during the years 1880-1930, and manuscript repositories containing materials relevant to furniture. Three indexes--craftsman, author-title, and subject complete the volume.
American Graphic Design
by
Graphic design is broadly interpreted in this annotated topical bibliography, covering both scholarly and applied literature focusing on graphics printed commercially for mass consumption in the United States from colonial times to the present. Materials extend from historical studies of design to textbooks and manuals of professional practice to theoretical works relating to design drawn from disciplines such as psychology and communication theory. The 1100 entries include reference sources, books, periodical articles, catalogs, films, and electronic data. Among the topics covered are general reference, design theory and history, education and career guides, professional practice, production and layout, typography, calligraphy, color reproduction, caricature, and photo illustrations as well as applications in advertising, publication design, corporate identity programs, information graphics, package design, posters and signs. Literature on computer technology as used in desktop publishing and computer graphics is also included. Appendixes provide annotated listings of almost 200 relevant annuals and serials as well as a directory of associations and organizations in the field. Access to titles, authors, and a finer breakdown of subjects is facilitated by thorough indexing. This work should be a valuable resource for professional designers, scholars and students of design, and librarians interested in collection development.
