Skip to Main Content

History

Prof. Shapiro Fall 2013

History Databases

Go to BobCat - Articles tab

Select History

Do a search for your topic across all selected Core Databases or pick a database that matches your topic

Project Muse & JStor

Project Muse and JStor  provide "boutique" access to:
  • Full Text of selected Academic Journal Articles
  • Articles in most fields of the humanities and social sciences
  • Project Muse covers the most current five to ten years (this varies by journal title, check under Browse Journals for exact dates)
  • JStor covers past years mainly, mostly up to 1-4 years ago

 

When using JStor:
  • Click on Advanced Search
  • Unclick
  • Sort your results: Oldest to Newest to do historical research 

Newspapers, Magazines, Journals

Proquest All Subscribed Contents
A "shopping mall" of newspaper, magazine and journal articles in all subject areas
Use it to get an overview on your subject;  find historic events reported in newspapers and magazines; find primary sources such as  interviews, commentary, etc.
 
►Use the power of this database by Limiting Dates, Document Type (e.g. interviews, reviews), and using the fields in the Search section (Citation and Abstract vs. Citation and Document Text)
 
►Narrow your Results list by using the menu on the right to choose Scholarly Journals, a Subject area or to select a Publication Date range 

►This is a good starting place for most topics “to see what’s out there.” It's also a great database for news, popular views, interviews