Global Studies

A "shopping mall" of newspaper, magazine and journal articles in all subject areas.Use to get an overview, find current events, interviews, letters to the editor, etc.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the world’s largest online resource of documents and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies..

With more than 500,000 pages aggregated from 300 international publishing institutions, CIAO is a unique and valuable archive and cross-searchable library of full-text articles from government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centers, and scholarly journals.

The material in CIAO encompasses working papers, policy briefs, and current analysis and commentary, as well as scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps.

The New School subscribes to two OECD publications: Main Economic Indicators and OECD Economic Outlook. Both are accessible via the Journals A-Z tab in Bobcat.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) covers topics in public and social policy, including health, economics, education and more. Contains records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Includes records from over 120 countries in several foreign languages. Coverage 1914- present, updated quarterly.

Project Muse covers the most current five to ten years (this varies by journal title, check under Browse Journals for exact dates).

JStor covers past years only, mostly up to 4-6 years ago.