Research Guides: Integrative Seminar and Studio Student Guide: Library Resources

Library Resources

What We Have

Libraries offer high-quality, authoritative resources for academic research. We offer books, magazines, newspapers, videos, images, and more -- in print and online.

Access

To access all library content from off-campus, sign into your MyNewSchool account. Click on the "Access Campus Library Services link" or "Libraries" in the Apps Menu. On campus, you can go straight to library.newschool.edu without signing in.

Find Books

Search the 'Books & More' tab on the library website using keywords in the title, author, or subject, or the ISBN.

Ebooks can be accessed through links under the 'Online Access' section of the page.
Physical books are arranged using Library of Congress classification. The New School students can borrow or request materials to pick up at any of our locations:
- University Center Library (63 Fifth Avenue, 6th & 7th Floors): Art, Design, Technology
- List Center Library (6 E. 16th Street, 8th Floor): Humanities and Social Sciences
- Performing Arts Library (55 West 13th Street, 2nd Floor): Music, Dance, Theater

View Access and Borrowing info and renew books (My Account) on the library website. Most books can be borrowed for 16 weeks and renewed twice.

Use Consortium Libraries (NYU, Cooper Union, New York School of Interior Design) with your New School ID card.

Three ways to find related books:

Click on subject headings in the library catalog.
Browse the shelf to find books under the same call number.
Look up books and articles referenced in literature.

Offsite: Request items by clicking on the arrow to the right of the item listing and clicking on "Request Item." You will receive an email when the item is available, 1-2 days.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Recommended for books or articles not available through the library catalog. To request, login to your ILL account. See our FAQ for detailed instructions.

METRO: Resource-sharing service for New York City area libraries. Onsite access only (no borrowing privileges).

WorldCat: Search WorldCat, a union catalog of library holdings around the world.

Request a Purchase of any books that you need for your research.

The New School subscribes to several E-book Databases. Full-text searching is possible when searching within individual ebook databases.

Google Books can be used as a tool to search inside books. Locate books using our library catalog.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An exhaustive selection of authoritative, scholarly e-books that combines ebook databases ebrary and EBL into one platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Recent articles are generally not available. JSTOR now includes access to the Artstor collection. Artstor is an extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use . Including high-quality images and visual media from top museums, archives, scholars, artists, and contributors around the world.

Library Databases

What are databases?

Databases house a variety of different types of information, from periodicals to videos to music to photographs. They are often services that we subscribe to, or they may be a platform for information we already own.
Databases can be very interdisciplinary and general, or they can be very specific.
We've helped organize them for you on our Databases A-Z page of the library website.

Accessing Library Databases

More recommendations can be found on the general databases page.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Recent articles are generally not available. JSTOR now includes access to the Artstor collection. Artstor is an extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use . Including high-quality images and visual media from top museums, archives, scholars, artists, and contributors around the world.
ProQuest All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
All ProQuest databases, ranging from dissertations to newspaper articles to scholarly journals to trade journals to wire services.

Library Database Search Tips

Database Searching Techniques

Truncation - Enter the word root followed by an asterisk
- femini* for feminine, femininity, feminism
Phrase searching - Enter search terms in quotation marks
- "Malcolm X"
Boolean searching - Combine search terms with logical operators AND, OR, NOT
Advanced searching - Search in specific fields, within a specific date range, and more.

Program Database Recommendations

Database recommendations for programs in the School of Art and Design History and Theory (ADHT).

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Art Source, Art & Architecture Source is an art research database that covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury Design Library offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, reference works, e-books, images, and more.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) provides abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.

Find more recommendations under art databases and design databases.

Database recommendations for programs in the School of Art, Media, and Technology (AMT).

ACM Digital Library - Publications from ACM and Affiliated Organizations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Library is the full-text repository of papers published by the Association for Computing Machinery and by other publishers that have co-publishing or co-marketing agreements with ACM.
WGSN Consumer Tech This link opens in a new window
WGSN Consumer Tech is a consumer technology trend forecasting service that empowers you to design standout technology products. It contains unrivaled consumer and lifestyle forecasts and direction for inspiring product design.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury Design Library offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, reference works, e-books, images, and more.

Find more recommendations under art databases and technology databases.

Database recommendations for programs in the School of Fashion.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly resource on fashion encompassing Berg Fashion Library and Bloomsbury Fashion Photography Archive. Find fashion encyclopedias, dictionaries, ebooks, article citations, images, biographies, timelines, videos, and more.
Stylus This link opens in a new window
Stylus provides inspirational and informative research and relates it to prevailing consumer trends, acting as a catalyst to push the design industries to new levels.
Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window
Global fashion trend forecasting including concepts for color, material, and style across various product categories including accessories, kidswear, menswear, and womenswear. Buyer's intelligence includes strategy guides, product updates, sales-based recommendations, and data-backed reports. Design tools include royalty-free prints, graphics and CADs and color palettes using Pantone, CSI, NCS, CNCS, Coloro and Archroma libraries.

Please note: Users are required to create an account and may need to reactivate their account if they do not use it after 90 days

Find more recommendations under fashion databases.

Database recommendations for programs in the School of Constructed Environments (SCE).

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This resource is based on the multi-volume index of the same name, which was published in 1963, collaborated by the Columbia University Avery Library collection. Now offered as an online database, it is the only comprehensive American guide to the past and current literature of architecture and design.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury Design Library offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, reference works, e-books, images, and more.
DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window
Database of thousands of international projects searchable by building type, construction, material, architectural topic, location, and year of construction, with documentation in German and English.
Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
Material ConneXion is a materials consultancy that helps companies and scholars source advanced materials to enhance the performance, aesthetics and sustainability of their projects.
WGSN Interiors This link opens in a new window
Trend forecasting and reporting on furniture & lighting, decorative accessories, kitchen & tabletop, hospitality, experience design and wellness, and more.

Please note: Users are required to create an account and may need to reactivate their account if they do not use it after 90 days

Find more recommendations under architecture databases, interior design databases and product design databases.

Database recommendations for programs in the School of Design Strategies (SDS).

Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Business Market Research Collection provides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research from three sources:

- Hoover's Company Profiles, which offers information on 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, summary financials, competitors, officers, and more
- OxResearch, which features succinct articles covering significant economic and political developments of major significance from a network of over 1,000 faculty at Oxford and beyond
- Snapshots Series, which includes market research overviews on over 40 industries and 40 countries to 2008
Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is the essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions in English, French, German and Spanish. Statista also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.

Find more recommendations under business and entrepreneurship databases.

Integrative Seminar and Studio Student Guide