Skip to Main Content

Media Studies

Newspapers, Magazines, Journal Database

Proquest (all Subscribed Contents)
A "shopping mall" of newspaper, magazine and journal articles in all subject areas
Use to get an overview, find current events, interviews, letters to the editor, etc.

►Use the power of this database by Limiting Dates, Document Type (e.g. interviews, reviews), and using the fields in the Search section (Citation and Abstract vs. Citation and Document Text)

This is a good starting place for most topics “to see what’s out there.”

►Great database for new trends in media, popular views, interviews

 

Project Muse & JStor

Project Muse and JStor  provide "boutique" access to:
•Full Text of selected Academic Journal Articles
•Articles in most fields of the humanities and social sciences

•Project Muse covers the most current five to ten years (this varies by journal title, check under Browse Journals for exact dates)

 

•JStor covers past years only, mostly up to 4-6 years ago

When using JStor:
•Click on Advanced Search
•Unclick
 

 

•Sort your results: Oldest to Newest to do historical research on when trends in media culture were first discussed

Media Studies Databases

Go To : New School Libraries and select Articles tab

Pick your subject, e.g. Media & Film Studies 

 

Do a Search for your topic across all suggested Core Databases:

 

Recommended Databases - Select by clicking on the links:

Finding Periodicals

•When you have the exact Citation to a journal article:

Use the E-Jourrnals tab to find out if the New School Libraries provide full text online.

 

Example:

Your professor wants you to read the following article - This is your Citation:

Holtzman, Deborah
Viral Hepatitis: Continuning the Dialogue. American Journal of Public Health; Aug 2010, Vol. 100 Issue 8, p1369-1369

Link to the Journals A-Z tab and type in American Journal of Public Health (Exact Match)

•When selecting an online version of the journal, make sure the coverage matches the date you need

•Check BobCat for online and/or print copies of journals in the Bobst Library

•You must go into Bobst Library to use NYU online journals (NYU Bobst Onsite Access Only)