Agritopias is an experimental agri-tech project designed in partnership with Prime Produce & Seeds to Soil Cooperatives. It is a decentralized food network comprising fifteen fostered food production stations adopted by participants. This information is represented by a network visualization showing the transfer of resources in an interactive online (?) platform where users can log their growing experiences. This knowledge exchange consists of experiential logs, automation experiments, and acts as a user driven system. Through sustainable ethos and community based art practice, the project will produce a revised, open-source system of healthy food sourcing that prioritizes accessibility and contains a lightweight system of support through information exchange. Participants fostering plants have the option to exchange and transplant their desired portion of their plant yield into an on-site aeroponic chamber. This project documents a network of exchange grounded in mutual aid principles.
The American Indian College Fund is the largest Native-run charity supporting Indigenous students' access to higher education in the United States. The collection consists of advertising posters created by the advertising firm Wieden+Kennedy for the American Indian College Fund.
This research is an examination of the annual music, culture, and art festival, Afropunk, as it relates to the process of self-fashioning and the individual dress practices of attendees of the festival. The research is comprised of image analysis, interviews, and ethnography. It examines three major themes: identity, expression, and space as they relate to fashion. The question I pose is divided into three parts: what factors do visibly marginalized individuals consider when self-fashioning, how does this affect their dress practices, and how does the Afropunk festival position itself as a ‘safe space’ for visibly marginalized individuals to express their identities through fashion? As the fashion industry and the field of Fashion Studies has paid more attention to subcultures, the music industry, and urban communities in recent years, this research looks at the academic, the social, and the political perspective of the subject to bring a timely new study to contribute the fields of Fashion Studies, Cultural Studies, and Gender and Sexuality Studies.
My Mother's Daughter is an introspection and speculation of the inherited trauma of daughters, specifically looking at trauma passed down between my grandmother, my mother and me in the context of their escape from the Vietnam War and the Secret War in Laos. It is a contemplation on being a first generation daughter of refugees and explores internal and external factors of what it means to inherit trauma.
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.
Declassified Documents Reference System provides online access to more than 700,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.
Colonial State Papers provides users with access to primary source documents from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries. The earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish and French are all covered in this database.