Skip to main content

Images for Designers and Art Researchers

Examples

Caption/Citation

Abbot, Jon. Forward Bend, 1968. Photograph. From "Yoga--A Beginner's Guide to Relaxation." Redbook 131, no. 1 (May 1968): 95-99, 116. https://login.libproxy.newschool.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1807550839?accountid=12261.

Captions

Yoga pose. From Redbook (May 1968).

Jon Abbot, Forward Bend, 1968. From Redbook (May 1968). Courtesy ProQuest and Hearst.

An article on yoga published in Redbook magazine in 1968 demonstrates how yoga was practiced in the United States in the 1960s.

 

 

Examples from Chicago Manual of Style

Francis Bedford, Stratford on Avon Church from the Avon, 1860s. Albumen print of collodion negative, 18.8 × 28.0 cm. Rochester, International Museum of Photography at George Eastman House.

Friedrich Overbeck and Peter Cornelius, double portrait, pencil drawing, 1812. Formerly in the Collection Lehnsen, Scarsdale, New York.

Examples of citations

1. AP Images database

Ena, Christoph. "France Paris Police Shot." April 21, 2017. AP Images #17111435946108. 

2. ARTstor database

Qualls, Larry. "Ruled" by Type A (Adam Ames and Andrew Bordwin). Photograph of installation composed of string and 2000 plumb bobs, with gallery door in background. Goff & Rosenthal Gallery, New York. Fall 2009.  ARTstor. 

* Note that when an ID number is not included in an image database, the image should be described in detail in order to identify the proper image.

3. Article

Abbot, Jon. "Forward Bend." 1968. Photograph. From "Yoga--A Beginner's Guide to Relaxation." Redbook 131, no. 1 (May 1968): 95-99, 116. https://login.libproxy.newschool.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1807550839?accountid=12261.

4. Book

Shen, Miranda. "The cult of the supermodel reached its peak in the early Nineties...Here supermodel Cindy Crawford, clad in a Gianni Versace 'bondage' gown, reports on the MTV Video Music Awards in 1992."  From Worsley, Harriet. Decades of Fashion. Koenemann/Getty Images, 2004: 729. 

*Look for a page at the end of the book called "Picture Credits," "Sources of Illustrations," etc.

5. Digital Collection

Ectomorph. "Suit." Motorcycle jacket and jeans made of latex rubber. 1986 (designed) and 1994 (made). From Victoria & Albert Museum (T.240, 241-1994). Accessed September 10, 2015. http://collections.vam.ac.uk/item/O233520/suit-ectomorph.

*Note that although the accession number and URL are provided, the image is also described in order to eliminate any ambiguity.

O’Sullivan, Timothy, photographer. “[Incidents of the war. A Harvest of Death, Gettysburg, July 1863.]” Photograph. Washington, D.C.: Philip & Solomons, c1865. From Library of Congress, Selected Civil War Photographs, 1861-1865. http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/cwp2003001110/PP (accessed January 9, 2006).

* As described on the Library of Congress website.

​​Wurts Brothers. "Women's Lounge at Radio City Music Hall." 1933. From Museum of the City of New York (X2010.7.2.5659). Accessed September 10, 2015. http://collections.mcny.org/Collection/[Women's-lounge-at-Radio-City-Music-Hall.]-24UFQE9Z1YU.html.

6. Photograph by Author

Garcia, Anna. "Contents of my bag."  2018.  Author's Photograph.

7. Website

AKM-GSI. Alexa Chung at airport. 2017.  From Ward, Mari. "Alexa Chung's Stealth Airport Styling Trick is a No-Brainer." April 20, 2017. Vogue.com. http://www.vogue.com/article/alexa-chung-airport-celebrity-style.

The Row. Fall 2017 collection, Look 1. Beige coat dress. Model: Angel Rutledge. From slideshow for Phelps, Nicole. "Fall 2017 Ready-to-Wear: The Row." February 14, 2017. Vogue.com. http://www.vogue.com/fashion-shows/fall-2017-ready-to-wear/row/slideshow/collection#1.

* If the website includes "date created/modified/updated," include it.  Otherwise, add the date the URL was accessed.

8. Stock/licensed photograph

Wargo, Theo. "'Actor Laura Gomez attends the 'Samba' Premiere during 2017 Tribeca Film Festival at Cinepolis Chelsea on April 20, 2017 in New York City." Getty Images #670876632. http://www.gettyimages.com/license/670876632.

Social Media

Disadvantages of using social media including Pinterest, Twitter, Instagram, and Tumblr include: (1) lack of permanence, (2) unlawful distribution, and (3) incomplete or inaccurate descriptions.

Before using any digital images found online, try to locate and cite the original source.  If this is not possible, try to verify the information describing the image with research or a Google Reverse Image Search.

Example of Citations

Photographer Unknown. Fashion blogger Aimee Song at Coachella. 2017. Instagram: Aimee Song @songofstyle. https://www.instagram.com/p/BS_HRi9jnSX/?taken-by=songofstyle.

Photographer Unknown. "Chelsea Pace Setters."  Young woman riding a bicycle. 1960s?  Flickr: National Science and Media Museum, UK @nationalmediamuseum.  https://www.flickr.com/photos/nationalmediamuseum/14143472597.