The AP Images Collection database captures the greatest events in history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text. AP Images Collection is a primary source database from the Associated Press, one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world.
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
The Europeana online portal was launched in 2008 and provides access to over 19 million objects from European libraries, museums, archives, galleries, and audiovisual collections. More than 1,500 heritage institutions contribute cultural content. Objects relate to science, media and art and are available in different formats (text, images, audio/video, etc.) and in every European language.
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress.
The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative, led by Eric Hoyt at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, dedicated to digitizing historic books and magazines about film, broadcasting, and recorded sound for broad public access.
Photogrammar is a web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI).
The Smithsonian Collections Search Center is an online catalog containing most of Smithsonian major collections from our museums, archives, libraries, and research units. There are 7.9 million catalog records relating to areas for Art & Design, History & Culture, and Science & Technology with 819,800 images, video clips, sound files, electronic journals and other resources.
Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
The New School Archives Digital Collections presents images, text, audio and video from The New School Archives & Special Collections, home to primary source materials documenting the history of all divisions of The New School.
Burst is a free stock photo site that is powered by Shopify. All the photos on our platform are offered under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license, which means you’re welcome to use the photos for any purpose.
Freepik is a graphic resource start-up with millions of images. Our database is always increasing with new photos, vectors, PSD files, icons, and now with Slide templates for Powerpoint and Google Slides.
NegativeSpace is about creating communities: A community of photographers who want to share their work. And a community of online visitors who want to use their beautiful, free high-resolution images without any restrictions.
picjumbo is free stock photo site created by designer & photographer Viktor Hanacek in 2013. It all started when any regular stock photo site didn‘t want his photos due to lack of quality. Two years later people downloaded more than two and half millions images from this site.
Founded in 2003 and headquartered in New York City, Shutterstock is an innovative technology company, operating in more than 150 countries and 20 languages. As a two-sided marketplace, our mission is to connect creative professionals with the best photos, vectors, illustrations and video from thousands of contributors around the world.
Explore the George Eastman Museum's collections online. More than a quarter of a million objects from the photography, technology, and George Eastman Legacy collections are now searchable, and more of the museum's vast holdings will be added on an ongoing basis.
Since its establishment in 2007 as both a photo agency and foundation, the international roster of NOOR’s - an Arabic word meaning "light" - accomplished and award-winning member photographers have documented civil and political unrest, environmental issues, war, famine, and natural disasters throughout the globe: from Africa and the Middle East to the Americas.