Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fashion Management

This guide is dedicated to resources that support the study of fashion management.

Research Types

Primary Research

According to the Society of American Archivists, a primary source is "Material that contains firsthand accounts of events and that was created contemporaneous to those events or later recalled by an eyewitness." (Check out Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, Using)

Students can obtain primary sources using a variety of methods: original research, archives, historical newspapers, interviews, oral histories, websites, blogs, emails & social media, or photographs and films. 

Secondary Research

Secondary sources are books, periodical articles, and other resources that interpret, analyze, represent, or discuss. Many resources can be considered either a primary source or a secondary source, depending on the context.

Quantitative Research

Quantitative research is used when trying to quantify the problem. There are four types of quantitative research: descriptive, correlational, quasi-experimental, and experimental. The data used for this research generally comes from surveys, questionnaires and evaluations. 

Qualitative Research 

Qualitative research is exploratory research. It is used when trying to gain an understanding of reasons, opinions, and/or motivations. There are five types of qualitative research: ethnography, narrative, phenomenological, grounded theory, and case study. 

Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations including books, articles, and other related documents. This list includes the full citation of the resource along with a brief description of the resource. This allows the reader to have a better understanding of the resource and it's credibility. 

You can learn more about how to format an annotated bibliography through OWL Purdue's Annotated Bibliography Samples

We also recommend that you use RefWorks to organize your citations for the annotated bibliography. Please note that you will need to create an account to use this resource. Please use your New School email address to create this account. 

Interdisciplinary Databases

The New School Libraries subscribe to over 500 databases. You can find them listed under the 'Browse Databases' link within the 'Books & More' option on the Library homepage. These resources have been sorted out by subject and you can explore these subject areas by using the 'All Subjects' dropdown box located at the top of the page. The databases listed below are good interdisciplinary research resources to start your research.