Anthropology

Annual Review of Anthropology is a part of the Annual Reviews database; its specific URL is http://www.annualreviews.org/journal/anthro . This database, dating from 1972-present, reviews developments and research relevant to anthropology under the headings Archaeology, Biological Anthropology, Anthropology of Language and Communication Processes, and Sociocultural Anthropology. Each review includes an extensive bibliography to guide researchers into critical resources on the topic covered.

These papers, published since 1907 by the American Museum of Natural History (AMNH), provide rich coverage of cultural anthropology and archaeology, with special attention to Indians of North America. Among the prominent cultural anthropologists included are: Robert Lowie, Alfred Louis Kroeber, Clark Wissler, Ales Hrdlicka, Enid Schildkrout, Leslie Spier, Margaret Mead, Elsie Clews Parsons, Colin Turnbull, Theodore Schwartz, David Mandelbaum, Ruth and Stanley Freed, and Frank Speck. When you click on the link this resource on the database list, a screen will come up with "Communities" as a heading and "Anthropology" as the first subheading. DO NOT CLICK ON THIS! Go to the bottom of the list, and click on "3" in the 1-2-3 boxes under "Herpetology." You will get "Scientific Publications" as an option. This is where the Anthropological Papers are. When you click on "Scientific Publications" you will get a search line. When you type in your inquiry (for instance, the name of a Native American tribe), you will get results. Click on the title of the result that interests you. To the left of the page, right across from the abstract of the paper, you will see the word "Files" with a hypertexted file number underneath it. When you click on the hypertexted file number, you will be able to download the paper.

Anthropology Online provides full-text ethnographies, reference books (including how to do fieldwork titles), anthologies, photographs, and gray literature, such as letters and fieldnotes. 75% of the content comes from the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland, with especially rich ethnographic content on Ashante and Ghanaian African tribes, and on Pacific Islanders.

Anthropology Plus is our MAJOR INDEX DATABASE in anthropology. It combines two key print indexes- Anthropological Literature, done by Harvard University and focused on American anthropology; and Anthropological Index Online, based on journals received at The British Museum and focused on British Anthropology.

This is the official database of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), the main national-level association of anthropologists in the United States. It covers 36 AAA journals, with extensive, though not total, full-text availability.

LLBA, as it is popularly known, is the major database for bibliographic citations to the linguistics literature, so coverage of linguistics as one of the four fields of anthropology is found here. Document types include journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.